Now that NaNoWriMo is over, what’s next?

Now that NaNoWriMo is over, what’s next?

by Lori Beasley Bradley
 

For those of you who got a full first draft on paper, Huzzah!nanowrimo2

For those of you who gave it your all but didn’t quite get there: Good for you, and keep at it!

For those of you who got in front of the computer and stalled after two or three words: Let your story simmer for a while. And never fear – NaNoWriMo will roll round again in 12 months!

At 10:15 p.m. on November 25, 2014, I typed the final words for the first draft of The Ruby Queen! 70,000 words and 19 chapters! I am very excited. In a few days, I will begin my editing. I will continue to present chapters to my critique group for their invaluable input. I recommend that anyone trying to write a novel join such a group. They are like a personal editorial staff. I learn something new every time I go and have improved my writing. It has been a very beneficial experience for me.

In order to succeed at completing NaNoWriMo, I forced myself to do a very detailed outline and character studies. Those I did before November, and the story almost wrote itself. I knew my characters and where I wanted them to go. They told me how to get them there.

I used the Snowflake outline method that combines the outline and character study into one process. I recommend it.

I know I have a lot of work ahead of me with the edit, but I am actually putting Book 2 together in my head already!

I hope you all had a great NaNoWriMo, too.

___________________Lori Beasley Bradley
Lori is beginning a new project she is calling The Soiled Dove Sagas. It will be a three-book series about two young women who find themselves taking up prostitution as a way to make a living in the 1870s. Lori’s first book is The Legend of the Swamp Witch. Follow Lori on Facebook or email her at treewitch1958@yahoo.com.

This entry was posted in Lori Beasley Bradley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now that NaNoWriMo is over, what’s next?

  1. bethkoz says:

    Congratulations, Lori! Isn’t it great that we live in a time and place we can get help with our writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

