Resolutions

Resolutions  

by Rita Goldner

When my colleagues at Phoenix Book Publishing and Promotion launched this blog in October, we each picked a recurring date for our posts. I arbitrarily picked the first of the month, with no especially compelling reason except that the blog started on my birthday, and I thought that was a good omen. Now I see my choice was serendipitous, because it affords me the opportunity to turn over a new leaf at the first of each month, with new goals, agendas, and commitments. My first-of-the-month time slot coaxes me to make mini resolutions each time, and now here I am at the mother of all resolution days!

orangutanI have a closetful of resolutions, which I dutifully trot out every New Year’s Day. I run them up the flagpole for a half-hearted salute, and most are compromised by the end of the month. This year, my resolution is much more daunting than usual: I’ve vowed to finish, launch, and market my first printed children’s picture book, Orangutan: A Day in the Rainforest Canopy. I’ve done two e-books in recent years, but they required nowhere near the amount of time and resources.

This gargantuan task is best served in small bites so I don’t get the feeling I’ve bitten off more than I can chew. So here I am on New Year’s Day, chewing away on several lists: sample pictures for my social media pages, steps for setting up my Kickstarter page, contacts for marketing, and pages that need polishing. Fortunately, my publisher, Dancing Dakini Press, is efficient and knowledgeable so I can be comfortable in my role of babe-in-the-woods, learning as I go. The book is already listed on their website.

I’m anticipating an exciting and educational year, and hope yours is, too!

____________________________
Rita Goldner is the author of the children’s eBooks Jackson’s History Adventure and Rita GoldnerJackson’s Aviation Adventure, both titles in Jackson’s Adventure Series. Rita’s forthcoming book, Orangutan: A Day in the Rainforest Canopy, will be released in print in May 2015. To view additional illustrations and other books in progress, visit Rita’s website. Contact Rita here. Follow Rita on Facebook.

This entry was posted in Rita Goldner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Resolutions

  1. bethkoz says:

    Yay! Rita! Thanks for setting this resolutionary example!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barbara says:

    Whatever we can do to support this great goal, ask.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rita, congrats on your audacious goal-setting! I love new starts, fresh looks at what we’re doing, and reorienting of our paths. Joy and power in yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Best wishes for yor literary success from #dianadelugan

    Like

Leave a Reply

