My Own Little Book

My Own Little Book

by Beth Kozan

For five years I’ve had this quote taped to my desk, just above my computer screen:

her own little bookAnd now. Now that I have my first book in my own hand, how does it feel?

It feels great! Beth's book

I’ve wanted to write books since I was in the fourth grade. I am now working on my second book, Helping the Birth Mother You Know.

More than just my wish is being fulfilled; others are cheering me on, knowing that if I can do it, they can do something they’ve always wanted to do, too!

When I was feeling like I’d never get this book published, I learned from a cousin in California that I have an uncle-by-marriage who published his first book at 93. Now that’s inspiration!

So thank you to all the people who have encouraged me and shown me the way!

*Who is Caroline Mytinger? I wondered. So I Googled her. She was a portrait painter and former model for Gibson Girls. Inspired by the writings of Margaret Meade, Ms. Mytinger took off with a gal-pal in the 1920s to travel to Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands. She was not trained as an anthropologist, but her paintings captured the people she studied. She was aware she was recording a quickly disappearing world. She died at the age of 83 and her paintings and books – lost for a time – are now housed in the Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology at the University of California, Berkley.

_____________________________
Beth Kozan is the author of the upcoming books,
Adoption: More Than by Chance and Beth KozanHelping the Birth Mother You Know. Beth worked in adoption for 35 years and retired to write. She has many more books than these titles to write and will emphasize and explore the concept of community in her additional books. “Growing up in a close agriculture-based, rural community in Texas, I felt the comfort and bonds of caring for others which is often missing in our busy lives today. Exploring and building communities for today is my writer’s goal.” Follow Beth on Facebook or visiPlease Sharet her website, where she reviews books and films featuring adoption.

 

This entry was posted in Beth Kozan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Own Little Book

  1. Marcie Brock says:

    So many congratulations, Beth! I know you’ve been working on this for a long time – it’s a huge accomplishment and an important book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

