From Morning Rush to Morning Ritual

From Morning Rush to Morning Ritual

by Alicia Fields

What do you want your life to feel like? When you wake up in the morning, is it the usual grind? Do you rush through the morning sprinting to work? Do you have excessive rushing syndrome? I have to consciously create my mornings so that the rest of my day is peaceful and happy, even if I’m hustling, it’s conscious and it’s not frantic rushing with all the anxiety attached.

morning ritualSo how do you avoid rushing and restructure your morning to design your day for peace and grace? You create sacred ritual. What comes to your mind when you read that phrase? Maybe church or crystals and candles or alters and ceremony? Truth is, you can create sacred rituals for any part of your day.

My morning ritual consists of a few consciously design parts. First, I wake up to Louise Hay’s 30-minute morning meditation, I just listen in bed as I slowly wake up, I set the alarm for half an hour before I actually want to get up so that I can input all the meditative goodness right into my programmable morning brain.

Second, I get up go to the bathroom and brush my teeth, because morning teeth are generally not the most fun!

Third I go into the kitchen and pour myself a pint glass of room temperature water, adding a drop of wild orange essential oil and a pinch of sea salt to get my electrolytes. While I’m drinking my water I throw on my kettle for coffee and make bulletproof coffee.

Lastly I drink my coffee while either reading a book, watching some business videos, or sitting outside enjoying my bird feeders and waterfall. I make the time to do this because it sets up my day for success. I always do this ritual, and I find it grounds me, enlivens me, and just makes me feel good! I do this ritual even when I have to get up early – I just make sure I have enough time to do so.

One of the biggest tips for creating a ritual like this is to name it something you love. I don’t like the word routine; it seems boring, stagnant, and dull to me. Ritual sounds so much more ALIVE. A ritual denotes sacredness, time for yourself and something to be honored. As a natural creative who dislikes planning and scheduling, a way around such necessary activities is to rename things like this: routine to ritual, planning to dream making, scheduling to space creating, or whatever floats your boat.

If you are constantly rushing in the morning, I challenge you to create a sacred morning ritual. Decide how you want to feel in the morning, and then design a ritual around that. One BIG suggestion is to not grab your phone, jump on the computer, or turn on the TV right away. Do not let outside forces dictate how you start your day; start internally. You get to decide how you want to feel, not the media, your friends and family, or other outside sources like email. Your ritual will evolve as you find things you like or don’t, so don’t should yourself into ritual. You know, “I should exercise” or “I should eat breakfast” or “I should check my email.” Do what FEELS good to you.

We just had a full Scorpio moon. Full moons are about completion – and now as the moon wanes, it’s about letting go, so consider letting go of things in the morning that don’t serve you and creating a ritual you love that makes you feel amazing. Then consider starting this new ritual on the new moon, Sunday, May 17, 2015. The energy of the new moon will help you to get your ritual going. I’d love to hear about it, so pop on over to my Facebook page and let me know what you’ve created, or leave a comment here.

Paz y Amor
— Alicia

________________________
Alicia H. Fields is the author of the upcoming book,
Wild Wellness, which will give you Alicia Fieldsmore insights like this about getting your body and life functioning to their highest levels, using the natural cycles of the earth. Alicia is a nature loving wild woman and creator of Wild Wellness, a business site for women that teaches how living intuitively and connected to nature will lead to an amazing and fulfilled life. Alicia is a master level yoga therapy teacher and wellness coach, Desire Map facilitator, essential oils instructor, tarot reader, animal rescuer, and backyard farmer with her partner, Mr. Amazing. You can find her at WildWellness.me or on Facebook

Please Share

This entry was posted in Alicia Fields and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Morning Rush to Morning Ritual

  1. Alicia, what a lovely article about such an important subject. My daily re-entry to the Physical is something like yours, including prayers for the Planet. And, this will make you chuckle– I also check the weather on my phone, to calibrate my physical body and my clothing thoughts for the day. As you say, we each need what works for us. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

