IFTTT: The Web’s Multi-tool

IFTTT: The Web’s Multi-tool

by Dharma Kelleher

Years ago, I subscribed to blogs using Google Reader, a tool that allowed me to follow all of my favorite blogs in one spot. When Google discontinued this service a few years back, I was worried I might lose access to the blogs I was following.

Then a friend introduced me to a free online service at ifttt.com. IFTTT is ifttt-bannershort for If This, Then That. Using IFTTT, I can have the posts from my favorite blogs emailed right to me. I love it!

But IFTTT is a real online multi-tool.

As the name implies, IFTTT looks for a triggering action, such as a new post published on a blog feed. It then can respond with another action, like emailing the post to you. This combination of triggers and responses is called a recipe.

IFTTT can connect to a wide range of apps and devices including Instagram, Fitbit, Facebook, and your Android or iOS device. For example, when you take a photo with your smartphone, IFTTT can automatically upload it to your Facebook page or email it to you or put it in your Dropbox folder.

I encourage you to visit ifttt.com and experiment with creating recipes that connect the various apps and devices you use and make your life easier.

____________________________
Dharma KelleherDharma Kelleher writes gritty, engaging fiction about gay, trans* and queer-identified characters. She works as a professional web developer for ZenPunk Web Works. Her hobbies include riding motorcycles, making snarky comments on Facebook, and shocking people with her latest haircut. Learn more about her and her writing at dharmakelleher.com.

Please Share

This entry was posted in Dharma Kelleher and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IFTTT: The Web’s Multi-tool

  1. daleidenj says:

    Dharma: This is a neat tool.

    Like

  2. bethkoz says:

    Thanks for the nudge, Dharma. I’ll try it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

