What Does It Take to Be a Successful Author?

What Does It Take to Be a Successful Author?

by Nick Nebelsky

About three months ago, a friend of mine confronted me with a simple question: “Nick, are you going to run for President?” In all fairness, his exact words were, “Are you going to run for Grand Knight of our local Knights of Columbus?”

kocMy immediate response was NO, and I politely declined. Why? Because all I could think about were all of the reasons why I COULDN’T do the job. I didn’t want to deal with the politics of it all. I didn’t want to be burdened. Or my favorite, “I just don’t think I’m the right person for this. You should let someone else step up.”

And then something snapped inside of me. I realized that everything I’ve done up to that point was preparing me for this position. And once I realized this, my whole world changed. I started to work on new projects that gave me the confidence to do more. And after a while, I became very good at organizing events and making decisions that affected a lot of people. I wanted to prove not only to myself, but to everyone, that I belonged and that I WAS worthy. In the process, I learned that setting the goal was only half the challenge. The other half of the equation was to believe in myself, to believe that I could do the job and trust that the people around me were the best at what they did.

The reason I bring this up is that I see a lot of similarities between this story and doing everything in your power to finish writing your book.

You could do as I did and find reasons not to finish. “The subject matter isn’t relevant. I just don’t want to write anymore.” Or my favorite, “I’m scared I’m not that good and people will realize this.” Those are excuses we need to eliminate immediately if we want to finish writing that book. Once I had my goal in place, I had a tangible reason to keep plugging away, and with each new accomplishment, I had more and more confidence to get the job done.

So here are my steps for success:

  1. Remove all negativity from your daily routine.GS - pile of books line drawing
  2. Set your goal and do everything in your power to get there.
  3. Surround yourself with great people.
  4. Work hard at your craft.
  5. Take it seriously. This is a job!
  6. Use your passion in positive ways.
  7. Believe in yourself.
  8. Trust the system.
  9. Get a mentor.
  10. Realize that every step you take is another step closer to your goal.

Sometimes you have to make some really hard decisions. And you have to be willing to put yourself out there and make a bold statement. If you hold true to what you believe is right and that your actions will make a difference, then you’re well on your way. That’s when you know that you’ve made it. My last little bit of advice is to NEVER GIVE UP!

__________________
For more than 30 years, Nicholas Nebelsky has created everything
Nick Nebelskyfrom greeting cards to short stories to children’s books to trade show presentations to screenplays and radio dramas. He currently spends his days listening to a lot of music while writing his first YA novel and contemplating his next venture. For additional information, please visit his web site.

Please Share

This entry was posted in Nick Nebelsky and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Does It Take to Be a Successful Author?

  1. Yes! Good advice! Never give up! (What was I supposed to never give up? Oh, yeah, writing!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

