Day 4 RECAP: Who are your writing role models and mentors?

Day 4 RECAP: Who are your writing role models and mentors?

by Laura Orsini

As  you are by now likely aware, we’re having a little 5-Week Author Blog mentor-menteeChallenge to celebrate reaching 500 members of the Phoenix Publishing & Book Promotion Meetup. Day 4 brought lots of interesting posts from our participants. For the next 32 days, I’ll be doing a daily recap of a few of the posts from our participants.

Participants had a wide variety of input on the idea of writing role models and influencers. Here is just a small sample…

MELISSA GIJSBERS – Melissa Writes

“I can remember being in awe of anyone who had had books published, then I started meeting some of them, including Isabel Allende at the Melbourne Writers Festival, Julie Hedlund online, and Adam Wallace over coffee via the Chapter Book Challenge. I found that they were all just like me – people with a story to tell. They were all further along their journeys and were generous in helping a start-up author.”

pencil

VIRGINIA WILLIAMS – Rose Point Publishing

“Okay, I have [a] Goodreads buddy who has read [my book] and is willing to enter a review, but hasn’t yet performed “beta” duties. I absolutely love his work, however, and have read, rated, and reviewed a pre-release for him: Michael Reisig. He would constitute what for me is a role model. The description of his characters leaves you smelling the sweat or feeling the tension, seeing the terror in their eyes – wide with shock. And the way his characters hold and exhibit their respect for each other is a delight, often felt, impossible for most to actually put into words. The scenes are riveting, whether 300 years ago or 40, on the back of an ox on in a Beechcraft skimming the waters of the Caribbean at sunrise. He has written the Road to Key West series, and Hawks of Kamalon, among others, but my favorites were The Treasure of Tortuga and the Treasure of Time.”

pencil

LAURA ORSINI – Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven

Yep, I even get to plug my own posts once in a while. I really liked this one a lot.

The paper I remember most, however, was by another coed, about my age. She wrote the most glorious description I had read to that point by anyone other than a seasoned author of classics about … the traveling Elvis museum. She detailed the steps up into the RV-cum-museum. She wove word pictures about the glass cases and the trinkets and memorabilia they contained. She described the kitschy gift shop with its gaudy gadgets and t-shirts and velvet paintings. And most memorable of all, she captured snapshots of the visitors – people of every age, ethnicity, and economic background. It seemed no one was immune to the draw of all things The King. I don’t have a clue what this gal’s name was, or what’s happened to her since. Only that she was 19 or 20, and I was 19 or 20, and in a million years, I don’t think I could ever master her gift for description.”

Please see the rest of our authors’ blog links and read them! They’re really good…

Keep reading and keep writing!

Laura

_________

If you’re just learning about the Author Blog Challenge for the very first time, don’t let the late hour sign-me-updeter you from joining! Fill out the REGISTRATION FORM, read the Guidelines, and begin blogging away! You’ll qualify for the contest to win a $50 gift card to the bookstore of your choice IF you back-post for all the days you’ve missed so far AND add your name to the MisterLinky for each date. Details will be sent via email upon your registration.

This entry was posted in Author Blog Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

