Finding the Time

Finding the Time

by Joe Torres

time to write

Today’s post is about something that I struggle with daily as a new “author.” I put the designation in quotation marks because in Writing Fiction for Dummies, it says that if you want to be an author/writer, simply make a decision to write something for any reason except a work or personal email, and boom you’re a writer/author. At least… I think that’s what it says. I don’t have incredible attention to detail, a problem that I’m sure will rear its ugly head in future blog posts and, quite possibly, this one as well. But I digress.

I’m struggling with “finding the time.” I don’t know about you, but I tend to find more excuses to not write than I do to write. “I’m too tired…” “I have too much work to get accomplished…” “I haven’t had a moment to think, let alone write…”

So I started to ask myself, “What happens in the regular world if someone doesn’t have time?” Think of a pizza place that is too tired to make your favorite pie. Could you imagine if you were at Starbucks and they told you they didn’t have time to make your coffee?!? I felt like I was giving my love and passion for writing less importance and attention than any menial task I didn’t want to accomplish. It dawned on me that every excuse was me saying to my book “I’m sorry, book. I don’t have time to write you because I’ve got to clean the garage.” Yeah… sounds completely stupid.

So I’ve been working on trying to remind myself what do I love to do – and writing is it. Yet I never say, “I’m sorry dirty dishes, but Lincoln and Ryan [my main characters] need me!!” I challenge you, dear companion. Do not tell your love and passion that you do not have time for it. If you are using your passion and love to actually make a living, then my previous statements are even more ludicrous sounding. But, hey, maybe it’s just me.

____________________
Joe TorresJoe Torres writes sci-fi adventure with heart. He is currently working on his first novel, Force of Nature. Joe lives in Gilbert, Ariz., with his wife and either the most amazing child on the planet or a demon from the depths of hell, depending on which side of nap time you find yourself. 

Please Share

This entry was posted in Joe Torres and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding the Time

  1. Marcie Brock says:

    Great reminders, Joe! We find time for what’s important, always. So maybe Tetris shouldn’t be more important than my novel, eh?

    Laura O (aka Marcie Brock)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. good one, joe! it’s so easy to throw up those writing blocks when we can’t get into “the Zone”, as Marcie so recently mentioned. and i don’t know about you, but i don’t consider stuff i force all that good–so getting into the zone is important. when it’s right, it just flows. let it flow.

    Like

  3. C.K. Thomas says:

    Great idea to be responsible for the well-being of your characters. I’ll put your suggestion to good use and make sure Kat and Star have a lifeline every single day. Thanks, Joe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

