My Night Before Christmas

My Night Before Christmas

by Mary Ellen Stepanich

cat head hawn.jpg

On my night before Christmas, I felt like a louse.
No family in sight, alone in my house.
No stockings were hung, no gifts anywhere,
No hope for a Santa, nobody to care.

My hair all in curlers, my cat in my lap,
I thought I’d recline for a well-deserved nap.
When all of a sudden, I woke with a clatter,
I sprang from my chair to see what was the matter!

Away to the window I hobbled in pain,
Raised up the blinds and stared out in vain.
But nothing to see, the moonlight was hazy.
“Thank goodness!” I cried. (I thought I’d gone crazy.)

I passed by the mirror, caught a glimpse of myself,
And I laughed and I laughed. I looked like an elf –
Entangled in curlers and perched like a hat,
On top of my head sat Cookie, my cat.

The look in her eyes, the tilt of her head,
Soon made me know I had nothing to dread.
I’m healthy and happy, my tummy well-filled,
My pacemaker’s working, my a-fib’s now stilled.

Of friends I have many who care, and what’s more,
Share stories and songs amid laughter galore.
So now I’ll exclaim and then get out of sight,
“Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night!”

Happy  New Year of writing

___________________
Dr. Mary Ellen Stepanich is a retired professor of organizational behavior who always
Mary Ellen Stepanichtold her students at Purdue, “I’m very organized, but my behavior is a bit wonky.” She has published articles in academic journals (boring), show scripts for barbershop choruses and quartets (funny), and an award-winning radio play, “Voices from the Front,” for Sun Sounds of Arizona (heartrending). Mary Ellen lives in Peoria, Arizona, with her cat, Cookie, and blogs on her website, MaryEllenStepanich.com.

Please Share

This entry was posted in Mary Ellen Stepanich and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

