Starting Over Ain’t So Bad

Starting Over Ain’t So Bad

by Joe Torres

I’ve been working on my book for the better part of a year. One day recently, I took a look at my work and hated it. I was mortified. I called myself every filthy name I could think of – quite possibly, I invented a few which may have just been combinations of hand gestures and grunting. I couldn’t believe I had worked so hard to produce such a remarkable piece ResetButtonof crap. I felt completely let down by my own lack of creativity and imagination.

I sat there staring at pages and pages of absolute rubbish. I told myself I was a failure and that I should never have even attempted to “write” a book. Who did I think I was? Truman Capote? Elizabeth Gilbert?!? Of course not, but I was convinced that I had the makings of a great story. Then I looked at what I had worked so hard to produce and I was astounded by its awfulness. I couldn’t believe how terrible it was. It felt forced, fake, and completely inauthentic.

And by the way, this wasn’t the first time I’d trashed the manuscript and started over. The good news is that I now realize a lot about those first few attempts.

  1. This wouldn’t be my last painful moment along this journey. You hear successful people talk about the path to success not being straight. Boy, ain’t that the truth! Success and failure are like knife fighting: going into a knife fight, the guy who knows he’s going to get cut and makes himself OK with it usually comes out on top. So I’ll take the failures (ahem, cuts) on the chin, metaphorically speaking of course, because, well … ouch.
  2. Starting over isn’t as bad as it sounds. Yeah, it sucked. And yes, it forced me to take a hard look at what I was doing and tear my own stuff apart to get to the heart of what I was really trying to say. But since doing that, I couldn’t be happier with what I’m actually creating now.
  3. Treat your creations like living, breathing, EVOLVING things. At 80 years old, you aren’t who you were 8. You change with time. Don’t be afraid to let your work evolve with you. You will change, and since you’re the one creating your characters, your characters will change, too. And that’s OK. Let it happen. Ssssshhhhh … just let it happen.

Maybe these tips are things the average author learns in Life 101 – but it took me some bumps and bruises to discover – and eventually believe – them.

_________________Joe Torres
Joe Torres writes sci-fi adventure with heart. He is currently working on his first novel, Force of Nature. Joe lives in Gilbert, Ariz., with his wife and either the most amazing child on the planet or a demon from the depths of hell, depending on which side of nap time you find yourself.

Please Share

This entry was posted in Joe Torres and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting Over Ain’t So Bad

  1. bchatzkel says:

    Joe, I feel you pain. Well said. I look forward to seeing the book when it evolves to published.

    Like

  2. bchatzkel says:

    Ignore the previous typo — ….I feel your pain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joe, you’ve pointed out 3 very important lessons! Now and then, it pays to put a piece of work on the scrap pile and start fresh. About your experience of suddenly seeing your first novel efforts as rubbish: I believe our brains actually change over time. I don’t believe it’s just learning more or maturing. There are things I did or said or wrote decades ago that I can remember doing/saying/writing, but it’s more like a film, a camera’s eye view of what happened. Right now, I have no empathy for many decisions of the past. The most I can say is the The Person I was Then made those choices. You are so dynamic and creative! I know your novel will be fantastic and a hot seller! Looking forward to reading it!

    Like

  4. Marcie Brock says:

    Joe, if your blog posts are at all reflective of your writing skills, I cannot wait to read whatever eventually emerges as your novel. You have a gift, my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

