Forgotten Places

Forgotten Places

by C.K. Thomas

Did you ever have an idea for a writing project that didn’t gel for many years? I did. I do. It’s still a foggy idea, but recently I was thinking, What if?

What if I posted photos from my file of forgotten places and asked any writers out there to write a 1,000 word story to go with a photo of their choice? Then, one day, maybe possibly publish a book of short, short stories to go with the photos. There might be more than one story to go with the same photo! Wouldn’t it be fun to see the varied ways writers were inspired by the same photo? I think it would be fascinating, even if we only ever read them aloud to each other at a gathering. What do you think?

You’re right (write), there’s no reward except for the one you experience by writing a roughly two-page story.

If you want to participate, just email your story to me, and I’ll compile them in some form. If nothing else, it will be good writing practice. No worries. You keep the rights and maybe give me one-time rights to use your story in whatever form this project might take.

I’ll be absolutely thrilled to receive even one story from even one of you!

Here are a few words written about a “forgotten place” by my husband.

Tioga PA Picnic Table

Happier Times by Frank Del Monte

The children . . . that’s what it missed . . . the little ones, running, playing, laughing; hiding under it, climbing on it; making it everything from a fort to a spaceship. And when their parents called them from play, eating on it, dripping ketchup and mustard and spilling their drinks. The sweet, sticky colas and teas soaking its wood leaving stains that gave it character.

But most of all it missed the babies, the little ones, sleeping in their carriers, depending on it to provide strength and security while they slumbered.

Yeah, that’s what it missed the most.

The children . . . in those happier days . . .

The End

Forgotten Places Photo Splash

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

_____________C.K. Thomas
C.K. Thomas lives in Phoenix, Arizona. Before retiring, she worked for Phoenix Newspapers while raising three children and later as communications editor for a large United Methodist Church. The Storm Women is her fourth novel and the third in the Arrowstar series about adventurous women of the desert Southwest. Follow her blog: We-Tired and Writing Blog.

Please Share

This entry was posted in C.K. Thomas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Forgotten Places

  1. CK, I love this whole theme. I am enchanted by coming into a space, on foot or on horseback, and seeing its secret, a building in a field no longer doing what it once did. Maybe crumbling stone walls and a decades-old footbridge, dissolving over the little brook it once embraced. I love to imagine how the people lived and moved in those times.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a terrific idea! I used a similar notion a couple years ago–I wrote short stories about “weird” articles I saw in the local newspaper. But this project has the potential for real emotion and pathos–especially if the photos reflect special moments in one’s life.

    Liked by 3 people

    • wxyz63 says:

      Thanks Mary Ellen! I hope I get some responses. How about this for a theme: A picture really is worth a thousand words! It’s all about getting those words on paper.

      Like

  3. bchatzkel says:

    Wow, this is something to think about and remember forgotten places in my life. As a non-fiction writer this will be a challenge. Can you remind us in next month’s post to make sure we write the story of the forgotten place?

    Liked by 1 person

    • ckthomas63 says:

      I will email the photos to you if you let me know which ones you’d like. There’s no need to pay me for them! I’m so glad you liked the post. I’ve received a very poignant story already, and I’m hoping for more before I write my next post on 08-29. I’ll extend the deadline to the end of September in my next post. Thanks for your reply! I’m looking forward to reading your first fiction story!

      Like

    • ckthomas63 says:

      Oops! Barbara, I hit reply for your comment when I answered LaDonna’s comment! I can’t seem to delete it, so please ignore my first reply to your comment. In answer to your question, Yes! I will remind everyone to write a forgotten places story by the end of September when I post again on 08-29. All the best muse whisperings when you launch into writing your fist piece of fiction! Thanks for your comment. 😄

      Like

  4. A wonderful post and I love the photos. In fact, I would love to buy a couple of them. Is that possible?

    Liked by 1 person

    • ckthomas63 says:

      I will email the photos to you if you let me know which ones you’d like. There’s no need to pay me for them! I’m so glad you liked the post. I’ve received a very poignant story already, and I’m hoping for more before I write my next post on 08-29. I’ll extend the deadline to the end of September in my next post. Thanks for your reply! I’m looking forward to reading your first fiction story!

      Like

    • ckthomas63 says:

      LaDonna, please read my reply to Barbara’s comment. Looks like I mixed up the two of you! Duh!

      Like

  5. Tracy says:

    Are these stories no fiction? Or can it be a made up story about the pictures?

    Like

Leave a Reply

