The Effective Author: Blog Challenge Bliss

The Effective Author: Blog Challenge Bliss

©2016 Kebba Buckley Button, MS, OM. World Rights Reserved.

To be Effective Authors, we need to keep our writing fresh. To do that, we need to keep our thinking fresh. A writing challenge, such as a blog challenge, can be just the experience to keep the brain cells moving in new ways. I have participated in a number of blog challenges in recent years. Each time, my skills and exposure have improved. I have completed more of the days of the challenge each time. I have met new people. My motivations for signing up each time were usually vague, and I was very tired at the end of each challenge.

Book-glasses-coffee

In June, I signed up for a blog challenge, The Ultimate Blog Challenge (UBC), taking place throughout the entire month of July. So I committed to write 31 articles. Part of my mind thought I was insane, since I have way too much to do, as it is. But some dimension of my mind was absolutely set on participating, and participating fully. I thought I would benefit by freshening my collection of articles, and people could more easily see what my work is about. That was my goal, and I was excited to do that. Since I usually create a new quote poster for each article, I was excited to have 31 new quote posters and post them to Pinterest.

I did those things. And I did something a bit differently. Wanting feedback on my articles, I started commenting on the other bloggers’ pieces. Not just the two blogs I was obligated to comment on, per UBC rules. I started commenting on three or four or five or six posts a day. I found a few of the regular bloggers very interesting, very spiritual. And sometimes they would write articles on something I planned to cover a couple days later. So I met people with fine hearts and kind souls. I started craving to read whatever this core group wrote, every day.

One day, when I didn’t see a post by one friend, I messaged her, asking if she was going to post that day. Now you may be thinking, “Sheesh! Is she in overcare or what?” But my friend thanked me immediately, saying she had forgotten to post. She promptly posted her column for that day and was pleased she hadn’t missed a day.

When I finished the UBC this week, I was surprised to feel overwhelmed by gratitude. There were a number of things for which I realized I was grateful:

  • Use of only closed-top mugs in the office – finally a habit! Don’t need a repeat of the Great Hot Chocolate Incident of 2011.
  • Increased speed at assembling the elements of an article every day: theme, photos, poster, quotes, text, format, publishing, and sharing.
  • Friendly exchanges that turned into friendships with some of the writers. Very heartwarming.
  • An odd feeling of elation at my success, especially the last week of the UBC. My satisfaction sped up my production. It was not a case of motivation breeds success, but a case of success breeds motivation.
  • That refreshed collection of articles I wanted, with new photos, new quotes, and the best quote posters I have ever made.
  • Fresh Google listings! I had been told that Google would pick up my blog at a different level, once I had posted 30 days in a row. But I found some of my articles and a number of my images before that. And the articles Google highlighted were those that received the most comments, a dynamic no one had taught me or mentioned to me. Good to know!

This time, my energy and enthusiasm are high since completing the UBC. My next project, finishing my new website, looks easier to step into after this flurry of productivity for the Challenge. I’m overwhelmed with gratitude and looking forward to the next challenge.

Look around for a writing challenge that may fit your work, and give it a try. You’ll be glad you did. And you’ll be a more Effective Author.

______________

Kebba Buckley Button is a stress management expert and author of the award-winning book, Kebba booksDiscover the Secret Energized You, as well as the 2013 book, Peace Within: Your Peaceful Inner Core, Second Edition. Her newest book, Sacred Meditation: Embracing the Divine, is available through her office. Just email SacredMeditation@kebba.com for more info. Like this article? Buy Kebba’s books by clicking the links! Reach the writer at kebba@kebba.com. For an appointment or to ask Kebba to speak for your group: calendar@kebba.com.

This entry was posted in Kebba Buckley Button and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

