Wait for it… Wait for it…

Wait for it… Wait for it…

by Lara Garcia

Later Now Buttons Show Wasting Time Or Procastination

We all catch ourselves procrastinating at one time or another. I never used to be a person who put things off. I would always have my list and check it off as I completed my tasks. I’m not sure what changed, but I have become a procrastinator over the last two years.

Why would this creep up on me now that I am in my forties? Until recently, I always lived by the motto: “Get it done today so you don’t have to worry it about tomorrow.”

I was reading up on the psychology of people who always say, “Tomorrow, tomorrow.” Perfectionists are often put in this group. Could it be I am trying too hard to be perfect, or perhaps I’m afraid of succeeding? My mind is an organized chaotic mess. So many possibilities to accomplish.

A group of studies shows that people tend to procrastinate unpleasant projects. What helps the most is to break down a larger job into smaller, more manageable steps. With my recent projects, I get excited, scared, and think about it way too much. I think I do fall into the category of perfectionist, even though I know there is no such thing as perfect.

What makes you procrastinate or what makes you dive right in?

Einstein quote - mind open

_________________________

Lara Garcia is a Phoenix- based writer and traditional mixed medialara-garcia artist. In her poetry, Lara creates word pictures that make readers wonder where she found the courage to reveal such raw emotions. She received her credentials from Wayland Baptist University in Plainview, Texas. Lara will be featuring her newest book Change in Time, along with Writers for Summer Anthology in June 2017. Contact her on Facebook or at laleighh@icloud.com.

Please Share

 

This entry was posted in Lara Garcia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wait for it… Wait for it…

  1. Paz Gutierrez says:

    Time too stare into the ‘Now Button’ hit and begin, you got this girl! Even with manageable ‘B.B. Steps’ it the start you been waiting for! It’s your time!!! I wish you lots of luck on this new beginning

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

