The Effective Author: Got Aha Moments?

The Effective Author: Got Aha Moments?

© 2017 Kebba Buckley Button, MS, OM. World Rights Reserved.

aha moments

Aha moments come in several forms, and they can be magnificent turning points if we choose to let them be. Sometimes we work hard to get to these realization points. And sometimes they sneak up on us, subtly building in our consciousness until we cannot ignore them any longer. Will you recognize your aha moments and make the most of them?

Sometimes we work hard for clarity on, for example, a decision point. We need to decide what college major to choose, whether or not to go back to school for an advanced degree, even for an ordination. For these decisions, we may make a very conscious, concerted effort, and we are pleased – but not surprised – when we receive the answer we need. Systematic research gets us the answer we seek, at least for the current stage of life.

Sometimes, we are not sure what exactly the questions are. So we go to group coaching, workshops, and retreats that help us sort out our thoughts and feelings. There are even retreats to help business owners sort out the best form their businesses should take. As we open up and hear about others’ processes, our questions become defined and new kinds of realizations will come. Aha!

But sometimes sudden changes in life jolt us, and we are thrust into a new time of evaluation and consciousness. We get an abrupt injection of aha moments. In a personal example: my mother passed away early this year, and although I was expecting her passing, emotions struck hard. I had none (none!) of the “five stages of grief” described by Dr. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross. She said most people tend to experience denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. But, instead of those, I had floods of memories demanding to be reconciled and released. I needed time to handle family business and those floods of memories. So I took bereavement leave from every board, committee, and lunch group, including a prayer team.

Then I had my huge aha moment: my life was surprisingly overcommitted! My aha moment became my transformation moment: I needed to select carefully what I actively included in my schedule, in my life. Complete freedom washed over me. Not only could I wipe my calendar and my commitments and start fresh, but I absolutely had to do so. I became aware that this freedom to choose, while something we all have, would take some months to feel out and live forward. I gave myself complete permission to do this and I knew Mom would think it was a great decision.

A superb way to harvest and leverage any aha moments is to journal every week, even every day. Journal on your iPhone, using the Notes app. Journal on pieces of paper and toss them in your journal drawer. Embrace your stages. Write to yourself: your observations, your questions, and your realizations. You’ll be amazed at what shows up that your pen knows but you didn’t. And now you have awesome fuel for nonfiction writing, as well as character experience material in your fiction writing.

Got aha moments? Leverage them for yourself, your life, and your writing. And now you’re a more Effective Author. Happy writing!


____________________________
Kebba Buckley Button
is a stress management expert and author of the award-winning Kebba booksbook, Discover the Secret Energized You, as well as the 2013 book, Peace Within: Your Peaceful Inner Core, Second Edition. Her newest book, Sacred Meditation: Embracing the Divine, is available through her office. Just email SacredMeditation@kebba.com for more info. Like this article? Buy Kebba’s books by clicking the links! Reach the writer at kebba@kebba.com. For an appointment or to ask Kebba to speak for your group: calendar@kebba.com.

Please Share

This entry was posted in Kebba Buckley Button and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

