The Effective Author: 7 Ways to Coax Yourself to Sit Down and Write

The Effective Author: 7 Ways to Coax Yourself to Sit Down and Write

© 2017 Kebba Buckley Button, MS, OM. World Rights Reserved.

Author workspace--How to Start

You know you can write, but sometimes, you can use coaxing. Here are seven ways to coax yourself to actually sit down and begin a writing session.

  1. Lighting. Seriously: How is the light in that area where you usually write? Do you have enough lighting and the right color for your mood? Today’s LED lights come in a whiter/cooler version and a yellower/amber version. You can buy the same stylish lamp with either color of LED chips or, if you have lamps with bulbs, the newest LED bulbs come in either cool or warm. The spectrum is shown on the side of the packaging. I prefer uplights: torchieres that wash the room with light. Some of my lamps have amber bulbs, for the times I want a candlelight effect while writing poetry. Some of the lamps have cooler or whiter bulbs, for when I’m writing nonfiction – especially materials that need focused research. Take a fresh look at your lighting to make your job easier.
  2. Noise. If you love background noise, put the right music on, or head for a busy coffee shop with lots of outlets. If you like quiet, home or a library may be the best place.
  3. View of Nature. Some of us are both calmed and inspired by looking out on trees, a garden, a birdbath, and our bird friends. That’s me. I have a feng shui garden with all those elements and a silent monk statue that reminds me of the principles of Peace Within. I can settle down quickly sitting at that computer station, and my productivity is supreme. If nature is too stimulating, close those blinds. However, if you like a little nature with less motion, a screensaver of a favorite park, golf course, or garden path may be just the thing for you.
  4. Clean and Clear Work Area. The feng shui of mess is …bad. Clutter around you supports mental clutter. Try straightening 3 inches’ more rim around your computer or pad, every time you sit down. You’ll be amazed at the uptick in your mental clarity.
  5. Sips and Snacks. Bribing oneself at the outset of a writing session can really help when you’re feeling resistant to sitting down and writing. Especially in the afternoon, if you must write something and are not in the mood, try a tasty beverage and/or a couple of cookies just as you’re sitting down. Miracles.
  6. Timer. Trick your brain into wanting to write by telling yourself that you can only write for 45 minutes. Then set a timer (hint: there’s one on your phone) and force yourself to get up when it goes off. Hit the restroom, refill your tasty beverage, and notice how you can’t wait to get back to your writing. Sit down and set the timer again.
  7. Use a Quote as a Prompt. If you are dithering about what to write during this session, pick any topic or person you enjoy, and go to your search bar. Enter: Quotes on (topic or name). Whatever the word you’ve picked, you will see a wild array of quotes and quote posters. Your brain cells will be righteously jiggled and you will find a starting point.

Try these ways of coaxing out your inner creative genius, and you’re on your way to faster starts and greater productivity. Now you’re operating as The Effective Author. I would love to hear from you. Please let me know which jumpstarts have worked best in your writing world.

_______________________
Kebba Buckley Button
is a stress management expert. She also has a natural healing Kebba books 2017practice and is an ordained minister. She is the author of the award-winning book, Discover The Secret Energized You, plus Sacred Meditation: Embracing the Divine, available through her office. Just email SacredMeditation@kebba.com. Kebba’s newest book is the full-color Inspirations for Peace Within: Quotes and Images to Uplift and Inspire, also available through her office. For an appointment or to ask Kebba to speak for your group: calendar@kebba.com.

Please Share

This entry was posted in Kebba Buckley Button and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Effective Author: 7 Ways to Coax Yourself to Sit Down and Write

  1. wxyz63 says:

    Great ideas, Kebba. I’ve got most of them covered including a comfortable chair and a view of trees outside my window. I don’t know what keeps me from writing, but I suspect it’s fear. I’ve written and published four books, and yet I’m fearful of starting another. I keep religiously blogging here and on my own blog site just to keep sharp. I think I need a moment of inspiration! It’s not writer’s block, it’s this writer’s “blockhead!” I need my brother around to say, “Get on with it, Sis!”

    Like

  2. brad217 says:

    Kebba – Absolutely great suggestions. And a little music before – maybe 10 mins of a tune that resonates with you. For me – I like sad sentimental 40’s Tommy Dorsey – Getting Sentimental Over You. It shifts my perspective immediately and inspires my imagination.

    Like

Leave a Reply

